Shine Training: Coombe Abbey

With only a few weeks to go my training has become even more intense. I’ve worn the soles of my trainers off, so much so that I may have to buy some new ones just prior to the walk. (My trainers have lasted me well though having trekked over mountains of Australia and through the dusty roads of Thailand.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My recent walk took me through the grounds of Coombe Abbey Country Park near Coventry. It’s a lovely peaceful place which I used to go to as a kid, walking over logs and the adventure playground and playing pooh -sticks. (Which I played during this walk – and won!)

It took an hour and a half to walk around, not bad considering I did stop to take in the view every now and then.

A bit of history

The Abbey has a rich history, from monks to Kings. It was founded by monks in 1150 and was passed through the British monarchy and to the country park you see today.

Coombe Abbey Fisherman and Nimph

The Fisherman and Nimph at Coombe Abbey

Reading it’s history I was surprised to see that King Henry VIII owned it at some point and that Princess Elizabeth was schooled in it. It was also surprising that part of the building was designed by Captain William Winde, the same architect who designed Buckingham House.

What did not surprise me however were the gothic themed designs that you can see throughout the gardens as you walk around. This gives the park a haunted feeling, set against breath-taking old woodland and scenery.

Sad news

My walks are becoming more important to me as the day nears because our family have heard the news you don’t want to hear. A close Aunt of mine is really ill with cancer.  I will be doing my walk in her name.

It a realisation that ironically came when I was writing this blog and it is not something that I expected to happen so soon. It shows how important our money is to organisations like Cancer Research UK and I was reminded how much I wish that there were a cure for such a horrible disease.

Our family are dealing with it much the same as any other I suspect, I have written to my Aunt, telling her of my walk and my training if nothing else but to give some light entertainment in such a dark time.

My Shine walk log:

Please sponsor me via my teams fundraising page. You can follow Shine Walk-a-thon on Facebook and Twitter @CR_UK or #shine2011

About Rachael Smith

I am a journalist and mentor. My blogs share my quotes, stories, poems, travel writing, fundraising plans and script ideas, along with art and images that I've created over the years... all views are my own.
This entry was posted in Writers blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shine Training: Coombe Abbey

  1. judith ripka says:

    That is the appropriate weblog for anyone who wants to seek out out about this topic. You notice so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would need…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, simply great!

  2. Pingback: Shine 2011: Getting back on track | Writing Space

  3. I have got one idea for your website. It seems like at this time there are a few cascading stylesheet issues while opening a number of web pages in google chrome as well as firefox. It is running fine in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check this.

  4. “Life is the flower for which love is the honey.” ~ Victor Hugo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.