Shine walkathon: Walking with a cold

I’ve been a bit poorly lately with a stomach bug which has thrown my walking out of sync and I have missed my long 3 hour walk. To make up I am hitting the gym and local park to build up my stamina again.

I don’t like making excuses for not training but it has made me realise the mountain I am climbing with only a few weeks to go.  I am excited and looking forward to the event.

Walking in the rain

Tree in the park

Escaping the rain on my latest walk

In my last long walk which was 2 hours and 12 miles, I got caught in the rain which was an interesting turn of events, I managed to Tweet my thoughts as I was going and captured the view of the park because, although I was soaking wet from the rain I was actually quite content and happy.

Quite luckily really because it has occurred to me that it may rain on the day judging from previous years floods and talk of “average wet days: 13 days”.

I am back training again this week and have a 14 mile walk to tackle at the end of the week. It’s great to know other walkers, like Victoria, Denise, Kelly and Nyree are all in the same boat.  We’re all fighting the same cause.

If you want to get involved but don’t fancy the training, sponsor me and Team Neon to do it for you.

My Shine walk log:

You can sponsor me via our fundraising page. You can follow Shine Walk-a-thon on Facebook and Twitter @CR_UK or #shine2011

About Rachael Smith

I am a journalist and mentor. My blogs share my quotes, stories, poems, travel writing, fundraising plans and script ideas, along with art and images that I've created over the years... all views are my own.
This entry was posted in Writers blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shine walkathon: Walking with a cold

  1. Pingback: Shine Training: Coombe Abbey | Writing Space

  2. I think this is among the most important info for me. And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  3. jake dimartino says:

    I am impressed with this internet site, I am a big fan.

  4. Elvin Hickerson says:

    I haven’t checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  5. Shawanda Cunnick says:

    You have brought up a very fantastic details , regards for the post.

Comments are closed.