Shine Walk-a-thon

I have signed up for the Cancer Research UK Shine night walk as a way to give me focus for my gym activity and as a way to gain a healthier lifestyle.

My friends had suggested that people join them on Facebook and I have to admit I thought it would be the most natural thing in the world to walk.  How wrong I am.

I’ve been training now, trying to stick to the plans but finding that even the 10 minutes fast to slow paced walking I am doing is making me breathless.  This is when I decided to share my experiences with my blog.

I will be keeping a diary of this on here to hopefully help other not-so-fit people who have decided to do something like this.  I will walking the full marathon length, which is around 26 miles/41km.   I am not trained in any way but I am hopeful because I tend to respond well to exercise.

Why do it?

Me on radio

Me on radio

When I was training as a radio journalist one of my first course assignments was to find a story that interested us personally, research it, get interviews and make a package.  I had an interest in cancer research due to illness in my family and breast cancer in-particular so I went about locating interviews for my item.

I had decided to get an interview from the then Cancer Research Campaign at their offices in London.  I was nervous.  Not in a “oh I am going to kiss my boyfriend” way but more a “crap, I’ve no idea what I am doing,” kind of way.  This was my first professional setting interview and also the first time I’d handled a mini-disc pack.

During the interview I relaxed and chatted happily with the spokesperson.  Also during the interview I was told that there would be changes once the merger is complete.  I was told of the work that they do and the way the money is spent.

Hitting home

Although memorable, this was not the reason the charity sticks in my mind.  It was the second interview I conducted with a friend’s aunt that bought things home.

Finishing the 5k Race for Life

Finishing the 5k Race for Life

This wonderful woman had been fighting cancer for a number of years and showed me a picture of a table of tablets that she had been taking; I remember her shoulders held low and her eyes not focusing fully on me when she was explaining the pain she was in.

She had a way of saying things to me that were open and honest without making me feel uncomfortable about asking.  She explained that I would be helping her by allowing her to tell her story and too many people had felt they can’t talk about it with her.  This made her feel it was something she should hide when in-fact it isn’t and she was still the same person.  She was just ill.

I listened as she told me that she used to wake up every morning with the thought that she had army’s of blood cells in her marching towards an army of cancer cells.  She told me of how she would tell the healthy cells to fight the un-healthy cells every morning out-loud to the mirror.

This lady lived.  She reduced her medicine and felt proud of her fight that she’d had with herself.

It was a story that sticks with me to this day, not only for the vivid imagery that she gave me but more the openness of her story and the need for her to tell it.  I know that my money won’t cure the many cancers people experience; I also know there are a lot of other organisations that are extremely brilliant in their work.  I am not singling this out as the only place to help but I do feel I can help a little and, as this lady showed me, the little can sometimes mean a lot.

I will keep you posted on my progress.

You can sponsor me via our fundraising page. You can follow Shine Walk-a-thon on Facebook and Twitter @CR_UK or #shine2011

About Rachael Smith

I am a journalist and mentor. My blogs share my quotes, stories, poems, travel writing, fundraising plans and script ideas, along with art and images that I've created over the years... all views are my own.
This entry was posted in Writers blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shine Walk-a-thon

  1. sandysays1 says:

    Sometimes a more relaxed approach to life and writing pays dividends. You appear to have talent, but a little desperation creeps through. Try caring a little less about succeeding and no less about your joy in writing. I believe you’ll see more in your product than you believed possible.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Shine Walk-a-thon | Writing Space

  3. Pingback: Shine Walk-a-thon | Writing Space

  4. Pingback: Shine Walk-a-thon: The stories | Writing Space

  5. Pingback: Why am I blogging? | Writing Space

  6. Very interesting site. I found you on Yahoo.

  7. I impressed, I need to say. Really rarely do I encounter a weblog that both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the difficulty is one thing that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very pleased that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something regarding this.

  8. cyber relief says:

    Please read, I have a lot of experience in article writing and actually offer it as a service, Is there any chance that I could do a guest post for your website? I am willing to write about any topic and it will be at least 600 words. The post will be 100% unique as I will have a member of my team write it for me. All i would like in return is one link at the bottom of the post (like a resource box when you submit to an article site) If you are interested please use the email I have provided in this comment, as you can see it’s my main business email :). I really look forward to your reply thanks a lot for taking the time to read this comment I know how long it can sometimes take to go through all the spam comments that people leave these days. Thanks again, Lee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.