Shine Walk-a-thon

Update:

Shine Walk logo I’ve had a message today from my friend to say the packs arrived, with it comes a t-shirt and training plan.  We’re already planning what theme to go with, I suggested 80’s fitness (which may be an easy choice but it would be a lot of fun!)

Looking online the training plans appears quite daunting.  I’m starting it this week with 30-45 minutes walking.  Counting up what I do already this doesn’t seem too much more.  If I walk to the train station (30 minutes), hit the treadmill at lunch (20 minutes) and walk home (30 minutes) than I will have the 45 goal cleared.

On paper this looks easy – on paper I give it 100% commitment.  The problems come when there’s an excuse to not walk:  It’s raining in the morning and I would prefer to get the bus; there are meetings at work and I will push the gym time back an hour until it’s too late and it’s time to go home; I’m tired from the day, annoyed by the commute and would much prefer a quicker way home.

I will no doubt be battling with myself to get my lazy arse into gear, get the legs moving and get this training done.  It’s worth it when I remember what it is I’m doing it for.

You can sponsor me via our fundraising page. You can follow Shine Walk-a-thon on Facebook and Twitter @CR_UK or #shine2011

About Rachael Smith

I am a journalist and mentor. My blogs share my quotes, stories, poems, travel writing, fundraising plans and script ideas, along with art and images that I've created over the years... all views are my own.
This entry was posted in Writers blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shine Walk-a-thon

  1. Pingback: Shine Walk-a-thon | Writing Space

  2. Pingback: Shine Walk-a-thon: The stories | Writing Space

  3. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, as well as the content!

  4. Fairy Tales Online says:

    Very insightful post. I enjoy your writing style. Keep it up!

  5. Pingback: One Cartridge vs. Traditional

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.